Ghost cats – cute and creepy – from our readers

A couple of readers left interesting comments to my Uncanny UK article about a ghost cat (http://www.uncannyuk.com/575/ghost-cat/). ‘Kate’ wrote:

“That’s really interesting! I often used to see a small black cat in a house I used to live in, always out of the corner of my eye but when I turned to get a proper look it would be gone. For a while I did wonder if I was going a bit potty because no other family members could see it. However, one afternoon a neighbour stopped to chat as I was coming home, and during the conversation asked about my ‘pretty little black cat’. I explained I didn’t have one, but she was quite adamant, saying, ‘but I’ve seen it loads of times – it was sitting on the window ledge a few minutes ago’.

The phantom moggie reported by reader ‘Syd’ was a more frightening feline, however. He wrote:

“When I was younger I used to be terrified of this black cat that strolled around my bedroom. It was much bigger than the size of a normal cat, probably closer to the height of a rottweiler, maybe slightly taller. You could only see it when the room was pitch black. If I looked at my bedroom floor I’d be able to see it wondering, usually circling around the floor. If I looked at it for too long, the cat would stare at me and start to walk towards me, at that point I’d turn away and hide under my covers for a while. The next time I looked, it would be circling my bedroom again.

“It was never in anyone else’s room and no other member of my family saw it. My mum used to tell me it was my mind making shapes in the dark from all the toys on the floor. The other things I saw never moved so I knew it was just my stuff: when I tidied my room, they left. But the black cat didn’t, it would continue to do the same thing. The previous owners of the house owned a black cat that used to practically live in my room. My mother had to clean the corners of my room before I could sleep in it, because that’s where the cat used to go to the toilet. The cat also kept coming back to this house because the owners didn’t keep it in. I remember my mum telling me that it could be the ghost of that cat… but I don’t see why it’s so big.”

We’re always interested in readers’ personal experiences on Uncanny UK. Please send your accounts to editor@uncannyuk.com
About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in cryptozoology, ghost animal, ghost cat, ghost cats, ghost stories, ghosts, ghosts Britain, ghosts of Britain, haunted Britain, supernatural and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

