More Phenomenal stuff

The April 2012 issue of Phenomena Magazine is now available and free to download at www.phenomenamagazine.co.uk

My ‘Spookology’ article in the current issue is kind of a celebration of the completion of my ‘Top 50 Most Haunted Places in Britain’ chart which I’d been psoting on Uncanny UK over the past few months. It will surprise no one to learn that I voted the Tower of London into the number one spot. This gave me the excuse to revisit the weirdest spooks encountered at the Bloody Tower, well-known though they are: the huge ‘thing like a bear’ and the strange glowing cylinder that floated about the Jewel Keeper’s apartment.

Rather more obscure is the article on ‘Floater Structures in Ancient Egypt’ by a chap (at least I assume it’s a chap) called Floco Tausin. Floco kindly offered this article to Uncanny UK some time ago but I decided it was too esoteric even for me – and anyway it was about Egypt not the UK. I’m glad he (or maybe she) has found a home for it. The feature presents the possibility that floating dead cells many of us get on our eyeballs may have been revered in the ancient world and that they are represented on many artifacts. Just a dotty theory? Read Floco’s article and find out!

Almost as esoteric is the mystery of Dark Matter, which Roland Tremblay explores in his article. John Lennon’s UFO sighting and the paranormal aspects of the ever elusive Bigfoot are the subjects of two further features. Ghosts are amply covered by a discourse on that well-known ghost-hunting venue The Galleries of Justice in Nottingham and Thomas Shea’s exploration of the various perceived categories of ghost. There is also an interesting review of The Mysterious Earth conference by editor Steve Mera. 

Download it now! It’s stuffed with spooky goodness and costs nothing – unlike the little magazine I will shortly be launching (ooh-er!).

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

