Phenomena Magazine as phenomenal as ever

I’ve had further computer trouble so I’m a bit late with blog updates. Everything seems to be working fine now, though – cross fingers and touch wood (not that in my business I am remotely superstitious, of course!).

The first thing I want to do is mention the latest issue of Phenomena Magazine. It still amazes me what a great job Steve and Dave do month after month with this free publication. One of the big articles in the March issue is by Peter McCue and investigates two cases of apparent missing time in Yorkshire. Fascinating stuff! Another highlight – if that’s the right word to use in this context! – is an attempt to get to the heart of the Shadow People phenomenon by Brian Allen (another former editor of Paranormal Magazine).

Andy Roberts contributes a tribute to the work of John Keel and UFO fans are well served by articles on alien abduction and airforce pilots’ encounters with aerial mysteries. In connection with that subject, Dave Sadler presents another handy guide to the night sky.

My own contribution concerns the celebrated and oft-quoted adventure had by two journalist in haunted chambers in London’s Lincolns Inn, in which they apparently encountered what has come to be referred to as a ‘bird elemental’. It’s a dramatic yarn but I’ve often thought it would be good to see the original newspaper article they wrote about their experiences. And the magic internet immediately came up trumps – there it was online (and I was littel disconcerted to find it had originally appeared in a book on ghosts published in the 1960s and which I’ve never previously seen). The reality of what happened is much less dramatic than is frequently stated – but it’s a weird, inexplicable and unique case nonetheless. There was no need to dramatise it.

The March issue of Phenomena Magazine is available to download for free from www.phenomenamagazine.co.uk

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in Phenomena Magazine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

