Ghost caught on film? Howard’s pretty sure of it.

Thanks to Ghost Finder London I’ve been way too slow writing about the video made by North Wales ghost hunters SpiritQuest. Howard Hughes, who runs Spirit Quest, told me about a ‘full body manifestation’ that had been caught on video during a nighttime visit to Pen Y Lan Hall near Wrexham. After I bumped into him in Tescos, he responded to my request for more info by writing:

‘It looks very solid and not your typical translucent ghost of legend but I can assure you that we were the only people in the cellar and we are all together in the room except a lady who looks nothing like the figure in the video and the owner who was shut up in a private wing of the mansion so definitely not her. Our medium had just commented on how she was sensing the presence of a clergyman. I did not notice it until weeks later whilst editing the video.’

Howard posted the video on YouTube. The link: http://is.gd/Ob2id5

My response was that this just HAD to be a real person, who’d come to snoop on what the team was up to. Perhaps the owner had snuck down to take a look, or someone else had turned up at the house in the meantime without SpiritQuest knowing about it? The figure seems to duck away when he/she realises someone has turned int heir direction. Its behaviour just seems too natural and as Howard says too much like a normal solid person. However, he is right in pointing out that ghosts are often very normal-looking. And none of us know enough about the (super)nature or behaviour of ghosts to say this positively isn’t one. Howard, at least, is pretty sure that the figure in the doorway is a genuine ‘manifestation’ – and to be fair, he was there.

What do you think? I’d value readers’ opinions and I’m sure Howard would too.

Here is Howard’s response to my doubts: ‘As the video on You Tube explains there was only one lady who was with us on the night who was not with us in the room and, as seen in the video, she has light sleeves and is a different build so it’s 100% not her. The only other person in the house that night was the owner, a lady who remained in a separate part of the house throughout the night and who also is a completely different build and was dressed in different coloured clothing to the figure; so 100% sure its not her either. 

‘Going on the evidence I can say with absolute certainty that the figure in the basement is no one in the group or with the group and neither is it the owner – so who or what is it? A likely candidate for a full manifestation – and I mean FULL. As you can see it is solid and as animated as any living person which is why I feel it’s really something quite special. As you know when people see a ghost they often mistake them for a living person until they vanish or whatever so I think I might have just captured such an apparition on video which is very rare indeed.

‘When you think about it, I wonder how many figures show up on home videos that are not really there, after all if a manifestation is just like a solid form surely many of them would be videoed and photographed but go completely unnoticed. Food for thought or maybe the ramblings of an eccentric!’

(The photo shows me and Howard on the night in 2009 when Howard invited me to one of Spirt Quest’s investigations, coincidentally just after I’d landed the job of Paranormal Magazine editor. The photo is c. Spirit Quest).

For information on my iPhone application, Ghost Finder London, which has 300+ haunted sites accurately plotted on Google maps throughout Central and Greater London (with info on each researched and written by me), please visit the app store: http://is.gd/sKQ8TJ

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in ghost on film, ghost on video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ghost caught on film? Howard’s pretty sure of it.

  1. Tracey Jones says:

    I took a look at the Video and like yourself i believe this ‘apparition’ to be a living person, not for the fact that it seems to solid but because it seems to generate a shadow, and i have never heard about spirits casting shadows.. I am sure that there maybe some sort of spirtual preseance in this location but on this occasion this is not it…

  2. Helen says:

    Having viewed the footage, I myself believe this is a real person. I had posted comments on the you tube page which were not authorised when it first appeared.
    I have investigated Pen Y Lan myself on a couple of occasions and the owner has never stayed in one part of the building, wandering around making herself a drink or ironing in other rooms. When in the cellar, her footsteps are clearly heard walking around the kitchen above and you can hear anything else from the lower rooms which we used as a base. She also had other visitors which come into the house unannounced. Having said this, it is a great building to investigate and we had stones thrown at us in the cellar which we caught on camera but as not night vision could not rule out foul play or natural occurrence. . I would suggest that anything caught on camera should be fully examined and verified before stating such claims as “full apparition caught”

Leave a Reply

