Why I’ve been so busy

The previous post was a reprint of the press release I’m distributing regarding my new venture, Ghost Finder London. I’m starting a new business called Apparition Developments through which I will be launching spooky and other special interest SmartPhone applications and, in time, books for Kindle and similar platforms.

Developing all this stuff is the reason for my silences on this blog from time to time and the slower-than-intended fashion in which I have uploaded the Top 50 Most Haunted Places articles on the main site. Although I need to pile into other databases now and explore other commercial opportunities, the hassle of all the testing and retesting that has gone on in the past few months is now over, so there shouldn’t be so many occasions in which I have to abandon Uncanny UK as I have had to do recently.

It took months to pull together all the haunted sites for Ghost Finder London. I’ve acknowledged the authors whose works most contributed to the database but I decided against giving the sources for each location (as I would have preferred to do) in order to help protect the intellectual property – it’ll be so easy to rip off this database. There are just enough locations lifted from obscure sources for me to pounce if I think the database has been lifted wholesale. No doubt I’ll face the same problem with Ghost Finder Wales, the next on the list, and those that follow. I’ve already come across a website that includes a gazetteer of haunted places from Wales all of which have been taken exclusively from my own books – which is a bit naughty, frankly.

Well, onward and upward. Ghost Finder London is in the App Store now priced at an exhorbitant £1.99, of which I will get less than half. Will I sell dozens, hundreds, thousands? I honestly don’t have a clue. I’d like to have it developed for Android, too, and all subsequent apps developed for both platforms. I hope there’s a future in this – by which of course I mean money. The amount of dosh I can expect to make from the sale of each app is the equivalent now of the royalties I might expect from a book with a cover price of about £18, thanks to the rotten deals writers get with publishers these days.  Although I love books – LOVE books – and spend most of my tiny disposable income on books, I cannot help but be enthused by these new markets. Avanti!

The app is available at: http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/ghost-finder-london/id493251459?mt=8&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

PS: Illustrating this blog is the full original artwork of the ghostly Beefeater used on the splashscreen of Ghost Finder London by my friend Jonathan Edwards (www.jonathan-e.com). I love his work and am so chuffed he agreed to produce graphics for the Ghost Finder apps.

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in Ghost Finder, Ghost Finder London, iPhone app and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I’ve been so busy

  1. MBForde says:

    I’ve recently published a paranormal ebook via Amazon’s KDP and the royalties and price are similar to your handy new Ghost Finder London app. The details you offer about meagre print royalties for authors makes me like KDP even more! Also, thanks for the excellent Top 50 Most Haunted Places countdown – it’s been a great help as I’ve just started researching my second spooky ebook.

Leave a Reply

