The October edition of Phenomena Magazine

Once again I find I have neglected to promote Phenomena Magazine, despite having an article in it! Shame on me, for the October edition maintains its excellent reputation. My own contribution is the second part of my ‘Spookology’ article on the weird ghost-lore collected by South Wales clergyman Edmund Jones in the 18th century. This time I present, among other weirdies, ‘marvellous thin’ and giant ghosts, apparitions that crawl on all fours, one that goes ‘topsy-turvy’ and a small, spherical thing like a tiny UFO.

In addition there is more ghostly goodness in the form of an absorbing article on Time Slips by Robert Young, another on orbs and one on elementals, and we are introduced to a haunted theatre in New York city. There are some excellent extraterrestrial and UFO-based features, too, including one which intrigued me on ‘eye-floaters’, dead cells which float about in the liquid on the surface of your eyes. I’ve had these for a long time but I guess if you suddenly got one and didn’t realise what you were looking at against a clear sky, you could be mistaken for thinking it’s an air-borne object. It’s certainly interesting that they tend to be either disc-shaped or saucer-shaped!

A magazine well worth paying for – but of course, it’s free. Download your copy from http://www.phenomenamagazine.co.uk

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

