The creepiest house in Britain?

On Royal Wedding day I went to stay with a friend who lives in Talysarn in Snowdonia, North Wales. We escaped the wedding by going for a walk in the blazing sunshine to a disused quarry near his home, where the workings have long since been filled with water to create two stunning lakes surrounded by old engine houses, rusting machinery and an atrractive variety of trees and bushes. Nearby, buried in a belt of woodland, are the ruins of Dorothea Hall.

Dorothea Hall turned out to be one of – if not THE – most ghoulish places I have ever seen. Its crumbling walls are gripped by ivy and trees grow in the middle of its rooms. Despite the heat of the day, there was a palpable chill around the old ruin. My friends and I tried to make sense of its rambling floorplan but it refused to make sense – reminding me of ‘The Haunting of Hill House’. It’s a very weird place. Dorothea Hall should be haunted but I know of no ghost stories attached to it (other than inevitable village rumour).

I took a few photos of it, and you can see them at http://www.flickr.com/photos/richardholland/

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in ghosts Wales, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

