Time slips – readers’ personal experiences

The main www.uncannyuk.com site has received a number of very interesting readers’ comments over the past few months. Two were made in response to the article on so-called ‘time slips’.

‘Jack’ wrote: I  just wanted to report my time slip experience which was experienced by myself, my father and my sister. It happened in the late 1990s (can’t remember exactly when – sorry) in King’s Lynn, Norfolk. My dad, sister and I were in the town to send my sister off on the train and we were passing the time standing by a fence near the railway station from which one could see a road and roundabout ahead. It was about noon and we had no agenda at that time other than to wait before heading to the station and there was a lull in the conversation.

‘We were all casually looking straight ahead when suddenly the atmosphere changed. The sound of the traffic around us stopped abruptly – as if someone had literally turned the volume right down. The air seemed to change, too; it became very still; spookily still and no sound could be heard. None of us spoke.

‘Then there came the sound of horse’s hooves on the road and within a few seconds we saw a horse and cart, driven by a large, angry-looking man, dressed in what I estimate to be 18th century clothes. He was of very rough, dirty appearance and his cart was well-used. He drove the cart around in a circle, all the time staring around, sometimes directly at us, sometimes away but looking absolutely furious as though he was looking for someone he wanted to kill. His face was red with hatred and he was a big, rough-looking man – someone you would definitely not want to cross. Eventually, he turned the horse and cart around and drove it off down the same road from which he had appeared and we could hear the horse’s hooves disappearing into the distance.

‘Immediately the sound had gone, the atmosphere changed back again and the sound of modern traffic and the din of a modern town returned again. We all three looked at each other; shaken and almost disbelieving but once we had asked the inevitable “Did you see that?” and received the answer “yes” we were even more shaken. It was such a peculiar experience and one which I shall never forget.

‘Was this a time slip? We didn’t notice any other changes; the buildings and road layout seemed the same but that part of King’s Lynn had remained unchanged for many years (although I understand it is quite different now) so I don’t know but it spooked us all for sure!’

In response to ‘Jack’s’ comment, ‘David’ added his own experience. He wrote: ‘Yes, that was a time slip. Something similar happened to me as well. I was in a building at the time but the effects where similar. I was walking through a large echoed corridor (it was a new addition) towards the dance studio when the sound of my footsteps seemed to become muffled and slightly more distant. The light coming through the window at the end of it sort of shimmered. 

‘I blinked and in the split second I felt a breeze, cold and harsh. The sound of faint music from around me had gone. I was standing in a field completely on my own. I shouted to what I thought was someone or something. The sky was grey as if it were raining.

‘There was a tomdous [sic] noise behind me. I turned to see the corridor again. I was back. I was completely stunned. This spurred me on to find out what had happened. I checked on Google about the area the school had been located in and it was previously a field.’

I am grateful to both readers for contributing their interesting experiences. You can read Nick Redfern’s orginal article on ‘Time Slips in Rural England’ at: http://www.uncannyuk.com/509/time-slips-rural-england/

About UncannyUK

I am the editor of Uncanny UK (www.uncannyuk.com), a website devoted to British ghosts and folklore. I am the former editor of Paranormal Magazine and the author five books on Welsh folklore. Just launched Apparition Developments, first product of which is Ghost Finder London - an app plotting 300 haunted sites in London for iPhone. I'm a highly experienced journalist and corporate copywriter. I'm an enthusiast on the subjects of UK folklore, the supernatural and antiquities and am fond of old horror and sci-fi movies, cult TV such as Dr Who and I collect Victorian/Edwardian magazines. I also enjoy weird art and macabre literature by the likes of M R James, E F Benson, Algernon Blackwood, W Hope-Hodgson, H P Lovecraft etc. I live in North Wales, which is a very spooky place.
This entry was posted in Nick Redfern, time slips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time slips – readers’ personal experiences

  1. John says:

    I have also experienced something similar early one morning around 2007 while walking my Lab mix in our front yard . I was looking out to the end of our property where I had saw something else another morning when I saw an Native American Indian Male that looked to be in his early 20s walk off the hill side across the short yard to the creek stream & just disappear into thin air . He was just just a bit translucent but as visible as any live person I have ever laid eyes on . He had long brown hair pulled back behind his head & held there with something No head dress of any kind & was wearing some sort of a tan colored short skirt looking dress around his waist that came to about his knees . He walked by my storage building & some modern junk stored right by his path my dog & I just 60 feet away his head never turned as if none of this stuff was in his world to interest him & he was on a direct course to somewhere with intent to get there .I have went back out there many mornings & watched for him again & every time I’m out there during the day now carrying a camera but have never seen him again thinking that might rule out Residual activity . So whether it’s a time slip or Paranormal encounter I’m a bit at a loss there was no change in the area or location only his appearance , walk though & disappearance which was so real & my dog had no reaction to him at all but she doesn’t react to strangers on her leach either . Paranormal strangers I can’t answer that yet . I have photos of her looking at large orbs in the house that I never saw when it was taken but that only her & God knows as well .
    John

  2. Jen says:

    I also have experienced a time slip, however mine was only of a time distance of 45 minutes or so. I was around 11 or 12 years old and watching TV while doing homework. I wasn’t really paying attention to the time and I was watching Australian TV show Home and Away which aired at 6pm. It was a pretty intense storyline at the time so I was enthralled by the drama. The commercials came on and I went to the kitchen, curious about when dinner would be ready, as we usually ate at around 6. I was surprised to see that mum hadn’t started cooking anything, and I asked when dinner would be ready. I was confused by my mothers irritation at my question and went back to the lounge to see The Cosby Show which aired at 5pm, was half way through.
    My sister was now in the room and I told her that I’d just been watching the new episode of Home and Away. She of course didn’t believe me so I told her everything that had happened on the show. When Home and Away did come on (for real) it was exactly as I remembered it (Don Fisher finally gave Shane and Angel his blessing for their marriage, awwww). We came to the agreement that there must have been a slip up at the TV station and they accidentally started airing it early. This made sense until I went to school the next day and mentioned it to my friends who had also been watching TV that evening. They all agreed there had been no mistake and the Cosby Show had played as normal from beginning to end.

    • UncannyUK says:

      I love the ordinariness of that otherwise totally inexplicable incident. Can’t help wondering how often this sort of thing goes on. Thanks for sharing your story!

  3. WyrdWyf says:

    I agree- the more banal, mundane, or everyday a weird experience is, the more convincing and spooky it seems…

Leave a Reply

